TOSCA — An interoperability standard for multi-cloud environment

Manmohan Singh Bohara
3 min readOct 11, 2023

In my previous article, we discussed interoperability standards currently being explored for a Multi-cloud environment.

In this article, we will discuss TOSCA one of the standards in detail.

TOSCA stands for “Topology and Orchestration Specification for Cloud Applications." It is an open standard developed to describe and manage the deployment and orchestration of complex applications in cloud and distributed computing environments. TOSCA provides a standardised way to define the structure and behaviour of applications and their components, making it easier to manage and automate their lifecycle across different cloud platforms.

Let’s discuss some key aspects of TOSCA standards:

Application Modeling:

TOSCA allows users to model complex applications and their components in a standardised way. This includes defining the structure of the application, the relationships between its components, and the properties and capabilities of each components.

Topology Templates:

TOSCA uses topology templates to describe the architecture of an application or service. These templates define how various components, such as virtual machines, databases, and networking resources, are interconnected to form a complete application stack.

Service Templates:

TOSCA service templates specify the complete deployment and operational behaviour of an application or service. They include information on how to deploy, configure, scale, and manage the application throughout its lifecycle.


TOSCA is designed to be cloud-agnostic, meaning it can be used with various cloud providers and orchestration tools. This promotes interoperability and reduces vendor lock-in, as TOSCA-compliant templates can be used across different cloud environments.


TOSCA provides a way to define the orchestration and automation logic required for deploying and managing applications…